How do I cancel my service?

Table of Contents

While we don’t like to see our customers leave, we want to make this process as simple as possible.


Important

If you are making use of our email service, you may wish to take a backup of any emails before cancelling your service and transferring your domain name away as after transferring your domain you will lose access to your email.

Additionally, if you are migrating to another WordPress hosting provider, you may wish to take a final backup of your website. We use and recommend a plugin called All-in-One WP Migration for backups.


The Process

If your domain name was registered with Host Local as part of the sign-up process, the first step, after backup up your data, is to request a transfer of this domain name to your new registrar or hosting provider.

You will then be responsible for managing DNS directly with the new registrar. You may continue to use the Host Local DNS servers until your billing period ends, however, we recommend updating these to your new host prior to the end of your billing period to ensure there is no downtime.

After your domain name is transferred, or if your domain name was BYO, then all you need to do is advise us of the date you’d like to stop making use of our services, and we will schedule in the cancellation of your billing and the deletion of your website and email accounts.

If you are making use of our Google G-Suite reseller arrangement, then we will transfer the billing directly to you prior to the end of your billing period to ensure you have time to update your payment details directly with Google.


How To Start

For all cancellations, we require 30 days notice so that we can schedule in the appropriate actions above to ensure we minimise any impact to your business operations.

To initiate a cancellation, please have the account owner contact support@hostlocal.com.au to request the cancellation.